Prof. PeptideProf. Peptide

NMN

Longevity

Last reviewed: May 24, 2026

Also Known As: Nicotinamide mononucleotide, β-NMN, NMN powder, β-nicotinamide mononucleotide

Supplement Class: NAD+ precursor (nucleotide, salvage pathway substrate)

Evidence Tier: Moderate — multiple human RCTs in older and middle-aged adults (Yoshino et al. 2021 insulin sensitivity in postmenopausal women; Igarashi et al. 2022 muscle function in older men; Yi et al. 2023 dose-response biomarkers; Liao et al. 2021 aerobic capacity; Christen et al. 2026 open-label head-to-head vs NR) plus extensive animal-model evidence; complicated by the FDA's November 2022 "not a dietary supplement" classification (see What isn't established below).

Buy on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, Prof. Peptide earns from qualifying purchases.

What is NMN?

Nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN) is a nucleotide that occurs naturally in trace amounts in foods including edamame, broccoli, and avocado. It functions as a direct precursor to NAD+ (nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide) — the essential cofactor for sirtuin longevity proteins, PARP DNA-repair enzymes, and the mitochondrial electron transport chain. NAD+ levels are reported to decline measurably with age (estimates range from 30–50% reduction by midlife), a decline causally linked to multiple hallmarks of aging in the literature. NMN supplementation raises blood NAD+ levels across the multiple human RCTs cited on this page and produces reported biomarker improvements (insulin sensitivity, muscle function, aerobic capacity) in trial populations. The mechanism rationale is mature; the human outcomes data is mid-stage; and NMN occupies an unusual regulatory position in the US following the FDA's November 2022 notification that NMN does not qualify as a dietary supplement under its current FD&C Act interpretation. The closest comparators discussed in this literature are the oral NAD+ supplement (a different route, with lower reported bioavailability), the injectable NAD+ peptide (direct delivery, requiring injection), and nicotinamide riboside (NR, one step earlier in the salvage pathway, the longer cumulative RCT history).

Reported benefits:

  • Significant blood NAD+ elevation (~38% in a 12-week trial at 250 mg/day)
  • Improved muscle insulin sensitivity in prediabetic populations (Yoshino et al. 2021, Science)
  • Improved gait speed, grip strength, and SF-36 physical performance in older adults (Igarashi et al. 2022)
  • Dose-dependent aerobic-capacity markers in amateur runners (Liao et al. 2021)
  • Improvement in the DNAm Age epigenetic biomarker (Yi et al. 2023 dose-response trial)
  • NAD+ elevation comparable to NR in a head-to-head trial (Christen et al. 2026)
  • Sirtuin pathway activation via raised NAD+ substrate availability
  • Mitochondrial biogenesis via PGC-1α activation

Common dose: 250 mg once daily in the morning in the trials establishing NMN's core effects (Yoshino et al. 2021, Igarashi et al. 2022). Higher-dose protocols (600–900 mg/day) are supported by Yi et al. 2023's dose-response data for larger reported NAD+ elevation. Standard capsules have the deepest evidence base; sublingual and liposomal forms are marketed as bioavailability alternatives with more limited head-to-head data.

Product-quality notes: NMN remains widely available over-the-counter despite the FDA regulatory notification discussed above. Quality is reported to vary — review the quality-markers checklist in the Product-quality considerations section below.

On this page

How does NMN work?

NMN works by feeding the NAD+ salvage pathway — the recycling system cells use to maintain NAD+ levels. NAD+ is the essential cofactor for sirtuins (longevity-associated proteins), PARP enzymes (DNA repair), and the mitochondrial electron transport chain. NAD+ levels are reported to decline with age — by some estimates 50% by midlife — and that decline is causally linked to multiple hallmarks of aging in the literature. NMN supplies a precursor converted to NAD+ in one enzymatic step, raising tissue NAD+ levels.

  1. NAD+ salvage pathway substrate. NMN is converted to NAD+ via the enzyme NMNAT (nicotinamide mononucleotide adenylyltransferase) — one step from precursor to active cofactor, making it the most direct precursor in the salvage pathway short of NAD+ itself (which is poorly absorbed orally, per the mechanism discussed on the NAD+ supplement page).
  2. Slc12a8 transporter (cell entry). The 2019 discovery of Slc12a8 — a dedicated NMN transporter on intestinal cell membranes — suggested NMN may enter cells intact rather than being hydrolyzed to NR before crossing the membrane, the older interpretation. The relative contribution of intact NMN uptake vs NR-mediated transport remains debated in the literature; the reported practical effect is that oral NMN raises blood and tissue NAD+ levels in published trials regardless of the exact route.
  3. Sirtuin activation (downstream of raised NAD+). NAD+ is the essential cofactor for all seven sirtuin enzymes (SIRT1-7). Raising NAD+ is reported to enable sirtuin activity across cellular compartments — nucleus (SIRT1, SIRT2, SIRT6, SIRT7), mitochondria (SIRT3, SIRT4, SIRT5) — which regulate DNA repair, metabolic function, and stress resistance.
  4. PARP support (DNA repair). NAD+ fuels PARP enzymes that repair DNA strand breaks. Age-related accumulation of DNA damage is reported to increase PARP activity and deplete NAD+ — a cycle that NMN supplementation is proposed to interrupt by replenishing NAD+ availability.
  5. Mitochondrial biogenesis. NMN-driven NAD+ elevation is reported to activate PGC-1α via SIRT1, stimulating mitochondrial biogenesis — the creation of new mitochondria to replace dysfunctional ones that accumulate with aging.
  6. NMN vs NR mechanistic positioning. In the salvage pathway, NR converts to NMN, which converts to NAD+ — NMN sits one step closer to active NAD+. Whether that proximity translates to a functional advantage over NR was, until recently, indirect; Christen et al. 2026's open-label head-to-head trial (65 participants, 14 days) reports NR and NMN comparably raised circulating NAD+.

What does the evidence say NMN does?

NMN has accumulating but still mid-stage human RCT evidence. The strongest reported findings are biomarker-grade: blood NAD+ elevation, muscle insulin sensitivity in prediabetic populations, aerobic-capacity markers in healthy active adults, and gait/grip metrics in older adults. Animal studies report dramatic effects (extending healthspan and, in some studies, lifespan in aged mice); human translation is partial.

  1. Blood NAD+ elevation (Strong). Igarashi et al. 2022 (NPJ Aging, n=42) reports ~38% elevation in blood NAD+ with 12 weeks of 250 mg/day NMN in older men. Yi et al. 2023 (GeroScience, n=80) extended this to dose-response (300, 600, 900 mg/day), with all doses raising NAD+. This is the most-replicated finding across the trials cited on this page.
  2. Muscle insulin sensitivity (Strong, narrow population). Yoshino et al. 2021 (Science, n=25 postmenopausal prediabetic women) reports significant improvement in muscle insulin sensitivity via hyperinsulinemic-euglycemic clamp. Whether this transfers to non-prediabetic populations isn't shown by this trial.
  3. Muscle function in older adults (Moderate). Igarashi et al. 2022 reports improvements in gait speed and grip strength with NMN supplementation; effect size is modest but the directional signal is reported consistently across multiple smaller trials.
  4. Aerobic capacity in active populations (Moderate). Liao et al. 2021 (J Int Soc Sports Nutr, n=48 amateur runners) reports dose-dependent improvements in oxygen uptake and ventilatory-threshold power with 300–1,200 mg/day NMN over 6 weeks, though peak VO2max itself did not differ significantly across groups.
  5. Biological age biomarkers (Emerging). Yi et al. 2023 reports improvements in DNAm Age (Horvath clock-based epigenetic age) and SF-36 physical performance in the higher-dose arms — intermediate endpoints rather than direct lifespan proof.
  6. NMN vs NR head-to-head (Emerging). Christen et al. 2026's open-label trial (n=65, 14 days) reports NR and NMN comparably raised circulating NAD+, with nicotinamide producing only a transient effect. This is the one identified trial dosing multiple precursors in the same population, though its open-label design is a noted limitation.
  7. Sleep quality (Emerging-Mixed). Trial results in the broader literature are inconsistent — some report modest sleep-quality improvements, others report no effect.
  8. Cardiovascular markers (Limited). Some trials report improvements in arterial stiffness, blood pressure, and lipid metabolism markers, with small effect sizes and a thinner evidence base than the metabolic and muscle-function findings.
  9. Lifespan / longevity (Animal-strong, human-unproven). Aged mice on NMN show reported extended healthspan and, in some studies, modestly extended lifespan. Direct human lifespan evidence does not exist.

How is NMN dosed in trials and on labels?

The clinical-trial dose range spans 250–1,200 mg/day. Most of the trials cited on this page use 250–600 mg/day; Yi et al. 2023's dose-response trial extended to 900 mg/day with dose-dependent NAD+ elevation reported. Liao et al. 2021 tested up to 1,200 mg/day without a reported serious safety signal. The dose-response curve for blood NAD+ elevation appears to flatten above roughly 600–900 mg/day in the trials reviewed.

Prof. Peptide reports what trials established and what research communities practice, labelled separately. Neither is a recommendation.

  1. Standard trial dose. 250 mg once daily in the morning — the dose used in Yoshino et al. 2021 and Igarashi et al. 2022.
  2. Higher-dose range. 600–900 mg/day, per Yi et al. 2023's dose-response data — the range showing the larger reported NAD+ elevation and biomarker change.
  3. Athletic/aerobic-capacity trial range. 300–1,200 mg/day (Liao et al. 2021). The dose-response evidence for aerobic performance specifically is less developed than for the biomarker outcomes above.
  4. Lower starting dose. 125–250 mg once daily is a pattern used in some products for the first 1–2 weeks, allowing individual tolerability assessment (rare but reported flushing or headaches) before any dose increase.

Reported timeline: blood NAD+ elevation within days; subjective effects, where reported at all, are not typically noticeable in the first month. Biomarker-grade effects in the cited trials were measured at 8–12 weeks minimum.

Single dose vs divided. Most of the positive trials cited use single morning dosing. NMN's half-life in humans is not precisely established (animal pharmacokinetics suggest roughly 2–4 hours); the trial data reviewed for this page hasn't systematically compared divided vs single daily dosing in humans.

Form factor. Standard oral capsules are the form nearly all positive RCTs cited on this page used. Sublingual and liposomal forms are marketed with plausible mechanistic rationale for enhanced absorption but limited head-to-head bioavailability data versus standard capsules in the trials reviewed.

How NMN is taken

NMN is taken orally as a capsule (most common in the trials cited), sublingual lozenge, or liposomal formulation. The table below reports what the cited trials and labels describe for timing, form, and standardization.

AspectReported
FrequencyOnce daily in the trials cited above; some higher-dose products split into morning and early-afternoon doses.
Time of dayMorning is the common label pattern, discussed as aligning with the circadian peak of endogenous NAD+ biosynthesis; rare reports of evening alertness are cited as the rationale for avoiding late-day dosing.
FoodAbsorption is not reported as strongly food-dependent in the cited trials; some users report taking with a small meal reduces mild GI sensitivity at higher doses.
FormStandard capsule has the deepest trial evidence base; sublingual and liposomal forms carry theoretical absorption advantages with more limited RCT data, per the sections above.
Standardization markerβ-NMN (the active stereoisomer) specified on label, with 99%+ purity and HPLC batch verification. α-NMN is biologically inactive and is reported as a marker of lower-quality manufacture.
CyclingNo cycling protocol appears in the cited trials — continuous daily use is what was evaluated.

What does NMN stack with?

NMN is the foundational NAD+ precursor discussed across most longevity stacks in this literature. It pairs with peptides in the NAD+/aging cluster, with supplements that activate sirtuins or modulate other longevity pathways, and with lifestyle interventions (exercise, fasting) reported to independently raise NAD+ availability.

With peptides

The most direct peptide pairing discussed in this literature is NAD+ peptide (injectable/subcutaneous) — the same downstream molecule delivered directly rather than via oral salvage-pathway feeding. A protocol described in this literature combines NMN as a daily oral baseline (250–500 mg/day) with periodic NAD+ injections. Epitalon (a pineal-derived tetrapeptide studied in Russian aging research) is discussed in the broader longevity cluster but works via a separate mechanism (telomerase activation reported in tissue culture, melatonin pathway modulation) independent of NAD+ biology.

With supplements

  1. Resveratrol — a sirtuin activator; the Sinclair-protocol pairing described in this literature has sirtuins requiring NAD+ to function while resveratrol activates them and NMN provides the substrate. Mechanistically coherent, with thinner direct combination-specific trial evidence than for either compound alone.
  2. NAD+ (oral supplement) — an alternative oral route; the intact NAD+ molecule has poor absolute bioavailability (estimated at roughly 3–5% in the literature reviewed) relative to NMN, and is discussed as an alternative for users avoiding either NMN's regulatory wrinkle or injection, not typically stacked alongside NMN.
  3. CoQ10 — a mitochondrial cofactor; NMN drives mitochondrial biogenesis per the mechanism above, and CoQ10 supports the resulting electron transport chain.
  4. Quercetin — a senolytic (clears senescent cells), discussed in protocols combining NAD+ restoration with senescence clearance; often paired with fisetin.
  5. Spermidine — an autophagy inducer; NAD+ supports the metabolic substrate while spermidine drives cellular housekeeping, a common longevity-stack pairing.
  6. Apigenin — a CD38 inhibitor; CD38 consumes NAD+, so reducing its activity is discussed as complementary to raising NAD+ supply via NMN.
  7. Fisetin (not covered on this site) — a senolytic flavonoid commonly stacked with quercetin in periodic protocols described in the literature.

With lifestyle factors

  1. Exercise. Aerobic and resistance exercise are reported to independently raise NAD+ levels and activate sirtuin signaling — a mechanistically synergistic pairing with NMN.
  2. Intermittent fasting / caloric restriction. Both are reported to raise NAD+ via metabolic-stress pathways overlapping with the pathway NMN supplementation feeds.
  3. Sleep quality. NAD+ levels are reported to follow a circadian rhythm, with poor sleep depressing morning NAD+ peaks; the literature reviewed does not describe NMN as compensating for sleep debt.
  4. Alcohol. Alcohol metabolism consumes NAD+; heavy or chronic alcohol use is reported to work against the NAD+-elevation goal of NMN supplementation.
  5. Time-of-day alignment. Morning dosing is the pattern discussed as aligning with the circadian peak of endogenous NAD+ biosynthesis and sirtuin activity.

Side effects and interactions

NMN shows a favorable safety profile in the published human trials cited on this page — no serious adverse events are reported across multiple RCTs at doses up to 1,200 mg/day. The main considerations reported are the FDA regulatory notification discussed below, the unknown of multi-year safety in healthy users, and a theoretical concern about NAD+ elevation in active cancer populations.

Common (uncommon and mild when they occur)

  1. Mild GI symptoms — reported at higher doses (600 mg+), typically transient.
  2. Headache — reported by a minority of users in the first 1–2 weeks in some trials, typically resolving.
  3. Flushing — reported as uncommon; some users describe mild facial flushing similar to niacin flush, consistent with NMN's structural proximity to niacin in the salvage pathway.
  4. Sleep disturbance with late dosing — reported rarely, associated with late-afternoon or evening dosing; morning dosing is the common mitigation.

Watch-list (theoretical / long-term)

  1. Active cancer populations — a theoretical concern discussed in the literature. Cancer cells often show elevated NAD+ metabolism, and increased NAD+ availability could theoretically support proliferation. Animal and cell-culture data is mixed — some studies report NMN inhibits tumor growth, others raise concerns. Oncologist coordination is the standard guidance for active or recent cancer.
  2. Long-horizon safety in healthy users — most trial data covers 8–12 week windows; multi-year continuous-use safety in healthy adults has not been directly characterized by RCT.
  3. Pregnancy and breastfeeding — safety data is limited; clinician guidance is standard before use in this context.

Drug and supplement interactions

  1. Anticoagulants and antiplatelet drugs — interaction data is limited; a theoretical effect on NAD+-dependent platelet function is discussed. Clinician coordination is standard guidance for chronic anticoagulation users.
  2. Cancer chemotherapy — NAD+ elevation could theoretically affect cellular responses to chemotherapy; oncologist coordination is standard guidance.
  3. Other NAD+ precursors (NR, niacin, niacinamide, oral NAD+) — reported as generally redundant rather than additive when combined; the literature reviewed discusses picking one oral NAD+ source rather than stacking multiple.
  4. Alcohol — reported to directly antagonize NMN's NAD+-elevation effect via increased NAD+ consumption during alcohol metabolism.

How is NMN stored?

NMN is reported as sensitive to heat and moisture — manufacturers commonly specify cool, dry storage, and some recommend refrigeration. Storage conditions are reported to materially affect shelf life and stability of the active β-NMN stereoisomer.

  1. Standard capsules: labels commonly specify a cool, dry place in the original sealed container, below 25°C / 77°F. Some manufacturers recommend refrigeration once opened in humid climates, though this is not reported as strictly required for capsule integrity.
  2. Powder (bulk): labels commonly specify refrigeration after opening, transferred to a small airtight container with a fresh desiccant pack if exposed to humid air; powder is reported as more moisture-sensitive than capsules.
  3. Sublingual lozenges and liposomal liquids: manufacturer storage instructions apply — these formulations are generally reported as more storage-sensitive than standard capsules and may specify refrigeration.
  4. Labels commonly warn against storage in direct sunlight or above 30°C / 86°F for extended periods, since heat is reported to accelerate degradation of β-NMN to less-active forms.
  5. Reported shelf life: typically 18–24 months from manufacture when sealed and properly stored; once opened, labels commonly specify use within 6–12 months for capsules, sooner for powder.
  6. Quality check: high-quality NMN is reported as a white or near-white powder or capsule content; discoloration (yellow tint) is described as a possible sign of degradation.

What isn't established about NMN

NMN is among the most widely discussed longevity supplements, with a correspondingly wide gap between marketing claims and trial evidence. The open questions below cover long-horizon outcomes, comparative effectiveness versus NR, the regulatory situation, and the animal-to-human translation gap.

Regulatory status (unresolved as of this page's last review). In November 2022, the FDA notified NMN sellers that NMN is excluded from the definition of a dietary supplement under FD&C Act §201(ff)(3)(B), based on a prior IND application filed for NMN by Metro International Biotech. The Natural Products Association and Council for Responsible Nutrition have pushed back; pending legislation may clarify the status. NMN remains widely sold by major US supplement retailers; enforcement has been minimal and the FDA position has not been formally reversed.

Lifespan and healthspan outcomes in humans. Animal evidence (aged mice) reports extended healthspan and, in some studies, modestly extended lifespan. Direct human lifespan or healthspan endpoints don't exist and won't for decades, since lifespan trials require multi-decade follow-up. Current human evidence rests on intermediate biomarkers (blood NAD+, insulin sensitivity, muscle function, epigenetic age); the translation from biomarker improvement to lifespan or healthspan benefit is not established.

NMN vs NR comparative effectiveness. Both raise blood NAD+ in the human trials cited. Christen et al. 2026's open-label head-to-head trial (n=65, 14 days) reports NR and NMN comparably increased circulating NAD+ — the closest available direct comparison, though its open-label design (versus the double-blind single-precursor trials cited elsewhere on this page) is a noted limitation. Whether NMN's more-proximal salvage-pathway position translates to a functional advantage over NR beyond this NAD+-elevation comparison isn't established.

Dose-response ceiling. Yi et al. 2023 mapped the dose-response across 300, 600, and 900 mg/day with dose-dependent NAD+ elevation reported. Whether 1,200+ mg/day adds meaningful additional benefit, or whether the curve flattens above 900 mg/day, isn't formally established by the trials cited.

Bioavailability mechanism. Whether NMN enters cells intact via Slc12a8 or is hydrolyzed to NR before crossing membranes is still actively debated in the literature. The reported practical effect (blood NAD+ rises with oral NMN) is established across multiple trials; the molecular pathway mechanism is not fully characterized.

Cancer biology interaction. NAD+ availability affects multiple cancer-relevant pathways; cell-culture and animal data show mixed effects, with some studies reporting NMN inhibits tumor growth via sirtuin signaling and others raising proliferation concerns. Clinical implications for people with a cancer history or active oncology treatment aren't well defined by the current literature; the healthy-user safety signal remains favorable in the trials reviewed.

Form-factor evidence gap. Sublingual and liposomal NMN are marketed with bioavailability-advantage claims over standard capsules. Rigorous, independent head-to-head bioavailability data at the human level is limited in the literature reviewed for this page; the standard-capsule default reflects where the trial evidence concentrates, not an absence of alternative-form evidence entirely.

Where studies disagree. Effect sizes for biomarker outcomes vary substantially across trials. Sleep, mood, and cognitive findings are reported inconsistently. The directional NAD+-elevation signal is robust across the trials cited; downstream functional effects are population- and protocol-dependent.

Product-quality considerations

NMN remains widely sold by major US supplement retailers despite the FDA's 2022 notification discussed above. Quality is reported to vary considerably — particularly around β-NMN stereoisomer purity (the active form versus the biologically inactive α-NMN), third-party testing, and storage conditions during distribution.

Quality markers reported in the category

  • 250–500 mg actual NMN per capsule, explicitly disclosed — rather than an undifferentiated "NMN complex" mass figure.
  • β-NMN specified on label (the active stereoisomer) — α-NMN is biologically inactive and reported as a sign of lower-quality manufacture.
  • 99%+ purity standardization with HPLC batch verification disclosed.
  • Third-party testing — USP, NSF, or ConsumerLab certifications signal independent label-accuracy verification; NMN has had documented quality issues historically, making this a more relevant screen than for many supplements.
  • No proprietary "longevity blends" that mix NMN with resveratrol, quercetin, or other compounds without disclosing the actual NMN dose.
  • Fresh manufacture date — NMN is reported to degrade over time, especially with heat/moisture exposure, with a shorter recommended shelf window than most supplements.
  • Cold-chain handling for liposomal/sublingual formats specifically, given their greater storage sensitivity relative to standard capsules.
Buy on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, Prof. Peptide earns from qualifying purchases.

NMN FAQ

What's the difference between NMN and NR?

NMN (nicotinamide mononucleotide) and NR (nicotinamide riboside) are both NAD+ precursors that feed into the same salvage pathway — NR converts to NMN, NMN converts to NAD+. NR has the older human RCT evidence base and reliably raises blood NAD+ levels (Martens et al. 2018). NMN is closer to the active NAD+ end of the pathway, but whether it's absorbed intact (via the Slc12a8 transporter discovered in 2019) or hydrolyzed to NR before crossing the gut wall is still debated in the literature. Christen et al. 2026 (Nature Metabolism, PMID 41540253), the one identified trial that dosed NR, NMN, and nicotinamide in the same 65 participants over 14 days, reports NR and NMN comparably increased circulating NAD+ concentrations — the closest available head-to-head data point, though the trial was open-label rather than double-blind. See NMN vs NR vs Niacin for the full head-to-head breakdown.

What is NMN's regulatory status as a supplement in the US?

Complicated. In November 2022, the FDA notified NMN sellers that NMN is excluded from the definition of a dietary supplement under FD&C Act §201(ff)(3)(B) — its stated basis is that pharmaceutical company Metro International Biotech had filed an Investigational New Drug (IND) application for NMN before NMN was marketed as a supplement. The Natural Products Association and Council for Responsible Nutrition have pushed back through legal and legislative channels. As of this page's last review, NMN remains widely sold by major US supplement retailers; enforcement of the FDA notification has been minimal and the agency's position has not been formally reversed.

Does the evidence show NMN raises NAD+ levels in humans?

Yes, in the published trials cited on this page. Igarashi et al. 2022 (NPJ Aging) reports chronic NMN supplementation (250 mg/day for 12 weeks in healthy older men) significantly raised blood NAD+ levels and altered muscle function markers. Yi et al. 2023 (GeroScience) extended this to dose-response, reporting 300, 600, and 900 mg/day in middle-aged adults all raised blood NAD+, with higher doses producing larger increases. Blood NAD+ elevation is the most-replicated biomarker effect across these trials; whether it translates to clinical longevity or healthspan outcomes is not established.

How quickly do NMN supplement effects appear in the cited trials?

Blood NAD+ levels are reported to rise within days of starting supplementation. Subjective effects are not a primary endpoint in the cited trials, and are described as slow and variable where reported at all — NMN is not characterized as a stimulant or fast-acting compound. The clinical trials cited on this page measure biological-age biomarkers, muscle function, and insulin sensitivity over 8–12 weeks rather than short-term subjective change.

Does the trial base favor standard capsules or sublingual/liposomal forms?

Standard oral capsules are the form nearly all the positive trials cited on this page used. Sublingual NMN (held under the tongue before swallowing) is marketed as bypassing first-pass hepatic metabolism for faster absorption; liposomal NMN is marketed with a similar cellular-uptake rationale. Head-to-head bioavailability data comparing these forms to standard capsules is limited in the literature reviewed for this page — the absorption-advantage claims for sublingual and liposomal forms are mechanistically plausible but not RCT-validated to the same degree as standard capsules.

Is combining NMN with resveratrol (the Sinclair protocol) mechanistically supported?

The mechanistic rationale is described as coherent. Sirtuins are NAD+-dependent enzymes; resveratrol is reported to activate sirtuins; NMN supplies the NAD+ substrate those enzymes require. Trial evidence for the combination specifically is thinner than for either compound alone. Spermidine, fisetin, and quercetin are commonly discussed additions for a broader NAD+/autophagy/senolytic stack.

Does the evidence support an NMN lifespan-extension claim in humans?

Not on current human data. Animal studies are described as dramatic — NMN supplementation in aged mice extends healthspan, improves cardiovascular and metabolic markers, and in some studies extends lifespan. Human lifespan trials don't exist and are unlikely to for decades, since lifespan endpoints require multi-decade follow-up. Current human evidence measures intermediate biomarkers (blood NAD+, insulin sensitivity, muscle function, epigenetic age markers) — reported as meaningful signals rather than direct lifespan proof.

Can NMN be combined with NAD+ peptide injections?

The two routes are discussed in longevity-protocol literature as complementary. NAD+ peptide (injectable/subcutaneous) delivers NAD+ directly into circulation, bypassing the salvage pathway. NMN feeds the salvage pathway orally, converging on the same tissue NAD+ elevation via a different route. A protocol described in this literature uses NMN as a daily oral baseline with NAD+ injections as periodic (weekly or bi-weekly) loading. The oral NAD+ supplement (the intact molecule rather than a precursor) is a third route, with lower reported bioavailability than either NMN or injection.

References

  1. Yoshino M, Yoshino J, Kayser BD, et al. Nicotinamide mononucleotide increases muscle insulin sensitivity in prediabetic women. Science. 2021;372(6547):1224-1229. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33888596/
  2. Igarashi M, Nakagawa-Nagahama Y, Miura M, et al. Chronic nicotinamide mononucleotide supplementation elevates blood nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide levels and alters muscle function in healthy older men. NPJ Aging. 2022;8(1):5. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35927255/
  3. Yi L, Maier AB, Tao R, et al. The efficacy and safety of β-nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN) supplementation in healthy middle-aged adults: a randomized, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group, dose-dependent clinical trial. GeroScience. 2023;45(1):29-43. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36482258/
  4. Liao B, Zhao Y, Wang D, et al. Nicotinamide mononucleotide supplementation enhances aerobic capacity in amateur runners: a randomized, double-blind study. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2021;18(1):54. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34238308/
  5. Yoshino J, Baur JA, Imai SI. NAD+ intermediates: the biology and therapeutic potential of NMN and NR. Cell Metab. 2018;27(3):513-528. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29249689/
  6. Grozio A, Mills KF, Yoshino J, et al. Slc12a8 is a nicotinamide mononucleotide transporter. Nat Metab. 2019;1(1):47-57. Correction: Nat Metab 2019, PMID 32694647. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31131364/
  7. Christen S, Redeuil K, Goulet L, et al. The differential impact of three different NAD(+) boosters on circulatory NAD and microbial metabolism in humans. Nat Metab. 2026;8(1):62-73. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41540253/

Published Studies

Plain-English summaries of the peer-reviewed studies behind the claims above. Click any title to read the source paper.

Science · 2021Paywalled
Nicotinamide Mononucleotide Increases Muscle Insulin Sensitivity in Prediabetic Women →

Yoshino M, Yoshino J, Kayser BD, et al.

A 10-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial of 250 mg/day NMN in 25 postmenopausal women with prediabetes. Reports NMN supplementation significantly increased muscle insulin sensitivity (measured by hyperinsulinemic-euglycemic clamp — the gold-standard assay) without changing body weight, body composition, blood pressure, or plasma lipids.

NPJ Aging · 2022Open Access
Chronic Nicotinamide Mononucleotide Supplementation Elevates Blood NAD+ Levels and Alters Muscle Function in Healthy Older Men →

Igarashi M, Nakagawa-Nagahama Y, Miura M, et al.

A 12-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial of 250 mg/day NMN in 42 healthy older men (average age 65). Reports NMN supplementation significantly elevated blood NAD+ levels by ~38% (placebo group: no change) and improved muscle function metrics including gait speed and grip strength, with no serious adverse events.

GeroScience · 2023Open Access
Efficacy and Safety of β-Nicotinamide Mononucleotide (NMN) Supplementation in Healthy Middle-Aged Adults: A Randomized, Multicenter, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Parallel-Group, Dose-Dependent Clinical Trial →

Yi L, Maier AB, Tao R, et al.

A 60-day randomized double-blind placebo-controlled dose-ranging trial of 300, 600, and 900 mg/day NMN in 80 healthy middle-aged adults. Reports all three doses significantly raised blood NAD+ levels versus placebo, dose-dependently; SF-36 physical performance and DNAm Age (biological age) markers improved in the 600 mg and 900 mg arms.

Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition · 2021Open Access
Nicotinamide Mononucleotide Supplementation Enhances Aerobic Capacity in Amateur Runners →

Liao B, Zhao Y, Wang D, et al.

A 6-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial of three NMN doses (300, 600, 1,200 mg/day) in 48 amateur runners. Reports oxygen uptake and ventilatory-threshold power increased in the medium and high-dose groups relative to control; peak VO2max itself did not differ significantly from baseline across groups.

Cell Metabolism · 2018Open Access
NAD+ Intermediates: The Biology and Therapeutic Potential of NMN and NR →

Yoshino J, Baur JA, Imai SI

A reference review on NAD+ precursor biology from the lab that conducted the original NMN animal aging research. Covers the biochemistry of the NAD+ salvage pathway, the differential properties of NMN vs NR, the Slc12a8 NMN transporter discovery, sirtuin and PARP biology, and the gap between animal and human evidence at the time of writing.

Nature Metabolism · 2026Open Access
The Differential Impact of Three Different NAD+ Boosters on Circulatory NAD and Microbial Metabolism in Humans →

Christen S, Redeuil K, Goulet L, et al.

A randomized, open-label, placebo-controlled trial (NCT05517122) dosing 65 healthy participants with 14 days of NR, NMN, nicotinamide, or placebo — the one identified trial to directly compare multiple NAD+ precursors head-to-head in the same population. Reports NR and NMN comparably increased circulating NAD+ concentrations, while nicotinamide produced only an acute, transient effect rather than a sustained increase. Open-label design (not double-blind) is a noted limitation relative to the double-blind single-precursor trials cited above.

NAD+ PrecursorSirtuinsLongevityMitochondrialRegulatory Gray AreaSinclair Protocol

We may earn commissions from peptide vendor affiliate links.

Have a question about NMN? Send us an email